Thursday, October 24, 2013

The Eight Limbs of Yoga

1. Yama: Universal Restraint
 Ahimsa: nonviolence 
 Satya: truthfulness 
 Asteya: nonstealing 
 Brahmacharya: continence 
 Aparigraha: noncovetousness

2. Niyama: Personal Observances
 Saucha: cleanliness 
 Samtosa: contentment 
 Tapas: heat; spiritual austerities
 Svadhyaya: study of the sacred scriptures and of one's self 
 Isvara pranidhana: surrender to God

3. Asana: Body Postures
4. Pranayama: Breathing Exercises, Control of Prana
5. Pratyahara: Control of Senses
6. Dharana: Concentration
7. Dhyana: Devotion, Meditation on the Divine
8. Samadhi: Union with the Divine

No comments:

Post a Comment